theChristianRebellion

Uprooting the political status quo

A Tale of Two Dieties

Matthew 6:24
“No one can serve two masters, for either he will hate the one and love the other, or he will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve God and money.

Several months ago I moved into a new neighborhood in a more affluent suburb.  Whereas I used to drive by a trailer park and an abandoned apartment complex, I now pass by mansions on huge estate lots.  Don’t be mistaken that I live in one of these, my neighborhood is a mix of average to large older homes on regular sized lots.  Mine is the one on the corner with all the dead grass from our recent drought.

About three blocks away from me is one of these large estates.  It sits on 4 acres, heavily wooded, and backing up to a creek.  It has a swimming pool, pond with fountain, tennis courts, electric wrought iron gate, and a large home that is barely visible from the road.  It isn’t as grand as some of the others on that street, but it stood out to me because of the Bentley I would see coming and going.  You can buy a rather nice used one here for just over $280,000 at current exchange rates.

His appearance of wealth was too outlandish for me to waste much time being jealous, but I had wondered what he did for a living that had made him so much money.  His last indulgence was definitely not one that I would choose.  Namely, a lethal and self-inflicted gunshot wound.

You see, Mr. Salinas was under investigation by the Securities and Exchange Commission for a possible Ponzi scheme that he was running.  He had allegedly convinced other millionaires, including wealthy college basketball coaches, to invest their money with him.  If the feds are right, he just took much of it, and lied about the investments.

I will never get to own, much less drive a Bentley, but I don’t think I’m missing much.  I would rather serve a God that died for me, and not the other way around.

Leave a Reply

